The new thing Disney is doing with its classic villains

The Writer Erin
7 min readJun 15, 2021

(And why self actualized women need to take notice)

Disney Studios

I was hanging out with a friend 6 years ago and he and I decided to go to the drive in movie and catch a couple of flicks. Maleficent was showing, so after checking out some drama film I can’t remember, we stayed for it.

Disclaimer: I am a huge fan of Disney classics. I’ve always been into magic and fantasy, and little fairy godmothers. There is so much mythology to analyze and compare to antiquity that I’m never out of concepts to break down and apply spiritually.

Needless to say, Sleeping Beauty has always been one of my favorites. It’s a dark aesthetic with some really deep plots and sub plots. I started watching it when I was about 8, and in Erin fashion, I would watch it on repeat (a thing I do with music and movies I’m really into). I practically have it memorized.

Let me catch you up.

For the 3 people on Earth my age who haven’t seen it, it goes like this. Aurora, daughter of King Stephen, was being blessed at birth in front of all the kingdom.

As her three fairy godmothers were bestowing their gifts on her life, the party was rudely interrupted by Maleficent, the angry, “evil” fairy.

--

--