The Tarot is Not About Predicting the Future

The Writer Erin
4 min readOct 21, 2021

(Discovering a more empowering way of looking towards the future)

Anncapictures / Pixabay

There is an idea about the Tarot being some sort of divination tool to help people to predict future events. Will that lover come back? Will that job offer come through? Will that person who harmed me get what’s owed to them? These are questions that I’m sure people are wondering when deciding on feeling out Tarot readers.

I also know that there are Tarot readers who feel comfortable sharing future events in readings. That’s not necessarily a bad thing I don’t guess, particularly when that reader has the skill and when they are only sharing it out of care and consideration.

For me, however, I don’t focus on telling anyone’s future. I don’t have that ability, nor do I believe that it’s the optimal way of reading the Tarot anyway.

First of all, the Tarot was created as a series of card games. The entire minor arcana, minus 4 cards, are our traditional playing cards that we grab at the convenient store before heading to the Friday night house party.

The thing that makes the Tarot so interesting is their complexity. The suits, the numbers, the concepts, the art, the abstract symbols, and even each card’s relationship to the next are all intricate little patterns that make not only for great games, but deep…

--

--